Missouri Association of Educational Office Professionals



In the spring of 1940, ten secretaries were called to Jefferson City to set in motion plans to organize the Missouri State Association of School Secretaries. This name was later changed to the Missouri Association of Educational Secretaries. Mr. Lloyd W. King, State Superintendent of Schools, was interested and instrumental in the organization of this group, which held its first meeting on November 8, 1940, at the Muehlebach Hotel in Kansas City. Martha Painter was elected President and Adeline Fangman was elected Recording Secretary.

There were 23 paid members at the end of the first fiscal year. The first check of $5 was sent in to affiliate the Missouri Association of School Secretaries with the National Association on August 21, 1941. The first house organ (publication), The Missouri Educational Secretary, appeared in 1941. Its editor was Jane Trogdon. The largest circulation for the magazine was in the early 1970’s when our membership reached over 1,000!

The name of the Association was later changed from Secretaries to Office Personnel and, most recently, to Professionals in keeping with the National Association.

Jean DeBerry Fritsche from St. Louis County, who served as president of MAEOP for the 1959-61 term, went on to serve as NAEOP president in 1965-66. Her theme was, “Key to Opportunity." To this date she is the only Missouri member ever to serve as National president.

MAEOP member, Margaret Elder, CEOE, was installed as the NAREOP (National Association of Retired Educational Office Professionals) President in 2006.  Her theme was "Unlock the Future, with Keys from the Past."

In 2014, Missouri's Debbie Geib, CEOE, became the Executive Director of NAEOP.  She was MAEOP President in 2009-2010, with the theme of "Back 2 Basics."