MAEOP Banner

History of MAEOP

In the spring of 1940, ten secretaries were called to Jefferson City to set in motion plans to organize the Missouri State Association of School Secretaries. This name was later changed to the Missouri Association of Educational Secretaries. Mr. Lloyd W. King, State Superintendent of Schools, was interested and instrumental in the organization of this group, which held its first meeting on November 8, 1940, at the Muehlebach Hotel in Kansas City. Martha Painter was elected President and Adeline Fangman was elected Recording Secretary.

There were 23 paid members at the end of the first fiscal year. The first check of $5 was sent in to affiliate the Missouri Association of School Secretaries with the National Association on August 21, 1941. The first house organ (publication), The Missouri Educational Secretary, appeared in 1941. Its editor was Jane Trogdon. The largest circulation for the magazine was in the early 1970’s when our membership reached over 1,000!

The name of the Association was later changed from Secretaries to Office Personnel and, most recently, to Professionals in keeping with the National Association.

Jean DeBerry Fritsche from St. Louis County, who served as president of MAEOP for the 1959-61 term, went on to serve as NAEOP president in 1965-66. Her theme was, “Key to Opportunity. To this date she is the only Missouri member ever to serve as National president.

Our Mission

The mission of MAEOP is to assist members to become more proficient through professional development opportunities, networking and through serice to schools and communities. 

For more information on MAEOP and/or any of its programs, contact any of the Executive Board Members.